Miso and its soupless uses

When I started to tell my nutritionist about my symptoms, the first thing she mentioned was that I should eat more fermented foods. I asked what the heck is a fermented food. It turned out that I have already consumed some but only by accident (and mostly when I visited my parents because I never bought any food like that). Earlier, an other nutritionist also recommended one kind of fermented food but she didn’t explain the benefits so I wasn’t very enthusiastic. Luckily, this new nutritionist explained the whys which always help me transition into a new diet, approach or lifestyle. I like learning new things. She said that it is not only good for my low level of stomach acid but it would help build up the gut flora and ease most of my symptoms. She also mentioned consuming miso which is a basic ingredient of the macrobiotic diet. And guess what, it’s fermented.

After I came home from the consultation I started to google the new foods she mentioned and right after I received my meal plan, I ordered the missing ingredients, spices, algas and teas. Miso, too. Well, it was almost a whole month ago but I haven’t tried miso yet. It’s time to start 😉 First, I was said because in my meal plan miso was used in the form of the soup and I’m not that big of a fan of soups. Today, I spent some time on the internet and collected some other ideas on how to use miso (link at the end of the post). But before the “how”, I want to collect the “whys”.

miso_16x9
BBC Food

 

Health benefits of miso:

  • contains all essential amino acids so it’s a complete protein
  • stimulates the production of digestive fluids in the stomach
  • can restore the beneficial probiotics
  • helps in the digestion (and assimilation of other foods) in the intestines
  • high in antioxidants
  • boosts the immune system
  • a good plant-based source of B vitamins (especially B12)
  • great source of iron, calcium and potassium
  • can lower the risk of cancer
  • improves bone health
  • supports a healthy nervous system
  • has anti-aging properties and can help in maintaining a healthy skin

The good bacteria and some health benefits are killed by heat so it is advised to add it as late as possible. However, the taste remains the same anyway so if your aim is “only” to eat something taste, add it whenever you prefer.

sugar-snap-pea-salad-4
Salad dressing

 

Recipes:

Make a spread using white miso, peanut butter and apple juice to thin.

Garlic noodles with miso (mushrooms and green onion)

Miso sauce spaghetti (avoid pork and use mushroom or vegetables instead)

Salad dressing

As onions for burgers 

“Cook your onions in a little butter until soft then remove from the heat and stir in a little miso to season. About a teaspoon or 2 is usually enough… Let your tastebuds guide you.”

Pasta with miso, asparagus and walnut (Hungarian recipe inspired by 101 cookbooks)

Miso Rizotto 

Roasted teriyaki mushrooms and broccolini soba noodles

 

Leave a Reply

