Diet motivation – wheat allergy

I’m not going well with my diet. At all. I have eliminated the dairy products, that’s a good thing but the other part of the diet is difficult. Mentally mostly. I don’t know why but I’m hurting myself with my unhealthy food choices. The instant symptoms started to fade but I still have to deal with long-term consequences. I should avoid gluten to ensure my guts are okay, I should avoid sugar, gluten, and milk to support the cure of insulin resistance and I should avoid wheat (because I have intolerance towards this, hence it’s a stress for me and hinders my healing with insulin resistance and fibroids), dairy products (intolerance, too), sugar and meat because of my fibroids. Oh, and of course, I should avoid gluten and dairy products because of my low thyroid levels.

And what have I done in the last few weeks? I eliminated dairy products 90% and with the 10% I added lactase pills to kill the strong symptoms and sat back. Yes, my stomach ache and bloating are not constant but it’s still there every second day. And have I changed anything? No. I’m just sitting and waiting for the miracle. Okay, my workouts are better, I did yoga or pilates every day but I did not do any improvements with my food choices.

However, one of my friends have health issues too and she sent me a link (because of her problem) that showed a new (okay, for me it was new) approach about gluten intolerance and wheat allergy. And it was an epiphany. My gluten “inspired” symptoms are not only the bloating and my not-healing-from-fribrods&insulinresistance but others, too.

General wheat allergy symptoms (note, that I have already had a blood test that showed my intolerance towards wheat but I’m just a stupid girl and totally ignored when I didn’t have any bloating):

  • hives or skin rash
  • dry skin (yes)
  • nausea (yes)
  • stomach cramps (yes)
  • indigestion (yes)
  • diarrhea
  • sneezing
  • headaches (yes, not everyday, but most often than my usual once-a-year frequency)
  • swelling, itching or irritation of the mouth or throat

And according to that new link:

  • exercise-induced anaphylaxis
  • bleeding of mucous

“Some people with a wheat allergy develop symptoms only if they exercise within a few hours after eating wheat. Exercise-induced changes in your body either trigger an allergic reaction or worsen an immune system response to a wheat protein.”

Symptoms of non-celiac gluten sensitivity:

  • mental fatigue (known as “brain fog”) (yes)
  • fatigue (yes)
  • gas, bloating, and abdominal pain (yes, yes, yes)
  • headache (yes)

And I had an epiphany. I often have nausea and I usually blame my insulin resistance for that. In the past few months (roughly the same period since I have serious stomach probmems and extreme bloating), I often have bleeding mucous. And I have dry skin. No matter how much I drink, how natural skin products I use, my skin is dry (okay, this may be caused by city centre smog because my skin is much better when I spend some time at my parents’). And most importantly, for a few months, I started to have serious bloating and stomach pain during my Pilates workouts. First, I thought it’s because the time between my meal and the workout is too short. Then I thought my breathing is not proper. Then I didn’t know what to think. But I usually eat something easily digestible before my workouts and these small meals usually contain gluten and wheat. So, maybe my stomach ache is so strong because it’s “exercise-induced”. Shit.

I was so stupid.

So blind.

I know, it shouldn’t be fresh news but most of my struggles are because of my diet. The ones that I would have never guessed that are because of that, too.

I will take my diet seriously. I swear.

This week was much better than last week, my workouts were okay, I did yoga, Pilates, spine caring workouts, mentally I’m much better. Next week will be about food changes.

This week I had better days with my diet than for example two weeks ago but I need much-much more improvement. I think, I really need a meal plan. Because that’s where I fail, I don’t plan my meals so I can eat only things I find at home or in the near takeaway food place.

Not good.

Not good at all.

This week I will plan next week’s menu.

My biggest achievements this week was that I found a new vegan whatever that I can put on my sandwiches. It’s quite expensive but tasty, I don’t regret buying it but honestly, it won’t be the main ingridient of my diet 😀

img_20160927_194349.jpg

img_20160927_194654.jpg
yes, my dinner looks like two weird penises
Leave a Reply

